Skip to product information
1 of 9

Escape Hatch Records

Los Tropics 7"

Los Tropics 7"

Regular price $10.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

Escape to a summer paradise with the smooth ska sounds of Los Tropics on their debut courtesy of Escape Hatch Records. The limited 7" release is available on clear vinyl with pink and orange splatters.

Los Tropics is a vibrant collective of musicians hailing from the tropics of Cancer and Capricorn, drawing inspiration from their Latino heritage and the classic sounds of Jamaican music. Founded in 2020 by Esteban Flores (Matamoska, Steady 45s, Catbite, Out of Control Army, etc...) and Daniel Ciudad (Vieja Skina), and later joined by Rafael Frías (Ska Jazz Messengers) and Rafael Toloi (Orquestra Brasilera de Musica Jamaicana), the band's mission is to fuse Latino flavor to the smooth rhythms of rocksteady, reggae, and ska... bringing the heat, one irresistible beat at a time.

Their debut 7" on Escape Hatch Records, featuring covers of The Drifters' "Under the Boardwalk" and Los Apson's "Fue En Un Cafe," epitomizes their fusion of sounds. Sung by Andre Cruz (Steady 45s) and Maxado (Firebug), respectively, these tracks embody the band's vision of intertwining Spanish and Jamaican influences, creating a sound that transcends borders and genres.

Led by Esteban Flores, whose extensive resume includes collaborations with bands like Rancid, The Interrupters, We Are the Union, Jer, and The Aggrolites, Los Tropics promise a refreshing musical experience for both Latino and English-speaking audiences. Join Los Tropics on their mission to unite the worlds of Latino and Jamaican music, as they breathe new life into beloved classics and pave the way for a future where these two vibrant traditions stand hand in hand.

‘’Fue En Un Café‘’

‘’Under the Boardwalk‘’

Esteban Flores: Piano, Organ, Percussion
Rafael Toloi: Bass, Backing Vocals
Daniel Ciudad: Drums
Rafael Frías: Lead Guitar, Rhythm Guitar
Alexis Briseño: Alto Sax (Side A)
Maxado: Vocals (Side A)
Andres Cruz: Vocals (Side B)
Francisco Flores: Lead/Solo Guitar (Side B)

Produced by Esteban Flores & Rafael Toloi
Arranged by Esteban Flores
Horn Arrangements by Alexis Briseño
Mixed and Mastered by Rafael Toloi (Arara Azul Music)

Lyrics on Side A by Los Apsons
Lyrics and Music on Side B by Kenny Young, Arthur Resnick and The Drifters
Artwork by Michael Buchmiller

View full details